This is the "Home" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Resources   Tags: law, legal  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2012 URL: http://tcpl.libguides.com/legal Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

FindLaw News - Top Stories

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

LEGAL RESOURCES

The Tompkins County Public Library has a collection of legal manual to guide you through your particular legal situation.  These resources are intended to guide the general reader and are not intended to replace the advice of a professional.  Please note that this guide has additional tabs that link to local, state, and federal resources.

Want to browse the shelves?  Here is a general guide to looking on the shelf:

340    Law
341    International law
342    Constitutional & administrative law
343    Military, tax, trade, industrial law
344    Social, labor, welfare, & related law
345    Criminal law
346    Private law
347    Civil procedure & courts
348    Law (Statutes), regulations, cases
349    Law of specific jurisdictions & areas

Bankruptcy - 346.7307 
Child Support - 346.7301
Criminal Law - 345
Divorce - 346.7301
Employee Rights - 344.7301
Immigration - 342.7308 
Landlord and Tenant - 346.7304
Patents - 346.7304 
Traffic Violations - 345.73

 

Research Guides

Cornell's Legal Information Institute - www.law.cornell.edu
Cornell's LII is a "not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. [They] carry out this vision by:
* Publishing law online, for free.
* Creating materials that help people understand law.
* Exploring new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law.

FindLaw - www.findlaw.com
Contains "legal resources on the Internet for legal professionals, businesses, students and individuals. These resources include Web search utilities, cases and codes, legal news, an online career center," and more.


Cover Art
Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law - Elias, Stephen
Call Number: 349.73 Elias 2009
ISBN: 9781413310528

Washburn University Washlaw Web - www.washlaw.edu
WashLaw Web provides users with links to law-related materials on the Internet. Links on WashLaw Web are maintained by staff members of the Washburn University School of Law Library.

 

Legal Dictionaries

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: REF 340.03 Black
ISBN: 031476271X

Cover Art
Dictionary of Selected Legal Terms - Jasper, Margaret C.
Call Number: 340.03 Jasper
ISBN: 9780195376579

Cover Art
Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary
Call Number: 349.7303 Nolo's
ISBN: 9781413310375

 

Legal Forms and Contracts

Court Structure

FEDERAL NY STATE
Supreme Courts
Court of Appeals
Appellate Courts Intermediate Appellate Courts
Trial Courts Courts of Original Instance (Supreme, County, District, City, Town, Village;

Librarian's Profile

Profile Image
Jennifer
Contact Info
607-272-4556
askalibrarian@tcpl.org
Send Email
 

Legal Note

Librarians can not give legal advice to patrons. 

Unauthorized Practice of Law. The New York Code of Professional Responsibility prohibits the unauthorized practice of law. Only individuals licensed by the state to practice law can give legal advice. Clerks and other court staff who are attorneys are prohibited from practicing law while working for the court system (Rules of the Chief Judge § 50.6).

More Guides

Adult Literacy
by Teresa Vadakin, Joyce Wheatley - Last Updated May 21, 2014
Basic Adult Education (ABE)
274 views this year
Baby Boomer Resources
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Nov 13, 2012
Health, Family, Relationships, and Retirement
71 views this year
Business Resources
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Oct 9, 2013
62 views this year
ConnecTech at TCPL
by Cassandra Shortle - Last Updated Jan 10, 2014
Here you'll find information & tips on using the technology & tools we're using here at the library!
125 views this year
Database Access
by Lawrence Carey - Last Updated Jun 19, 2012
32 views this year
eBooks and More
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
9,455 views this year
Email Basics
by Deb Collier - Last Updated Aug 13, 2014
Electronic mail (email) is a way to send a printed message or visual almost instantly anywhere in the world. This guide will help you to establish an email account.
455 views this year
English as a Second Language (ESL)
by Teresa Vadakin, Joyce Wheatley - Last Updated Aug 14, 2014
Read It, Write It, Speak It
296 views this year
eReaders - Nooks and Kindles
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
85 views this year
Facebook 101
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Jul 24, 2012
A step-by-step guide to Facebook that covers: how to set up an account, use basic features, set privacy settings and close accounts.
29 views this year
Gardening Resources
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Nov 13, 2012
58 views this year
Job Hunting Resources
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
121 views this year
Legal Resources
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Nov 13, 2012
28 views this year
OverDrive Digital Download Library
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Sep 16, 2014
Download eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eMusic from Tompkins County Public Library's Website!
4,559 views this year
Self-Help
by Amy Humber - Last Updated Aug 8, 2012
Community support, career satisfaction, healthy relationships, financial security, and physical health are the building blocks of wellbeing.
86 views this year
Tax Information
by Lawrence Carey - Last Updated Feb 7, 2014
Tax season can be confusing! We're here to help! Here you'll find assistance in obtaining forms and instructions, where to go for tax help in our community and resources for guidance in getting your taxes completed and filed!
1,029 views this year
Voter Information
by Jennifer Schlossberg - Last Updated Mar 22, 2011
5 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip