Library Menu
Begin Your Search Here
- Tompkins Workforce New YorkTompkins Workforce New York provides a convenient, one-stop shopping approach for accessing employment-related services for businesses, workers, and jobseekers in Tompkins County.
Tompkins County Top Ten Employers
Data is taken from Tompkins County Area Development www.tcad.org.
- Cornell Universitywww.ohr.cornell.edu/jobs
607-254-8370 - Ithaca Collegewww.ithaca.edu/hr/employment
607-272-3732 - Ithaca City School Districtwww.icsd.k12.ny.us
607-272-2201 - BorgWarner Automotivewww.borgwarner.com/careers
607-274-7511 - Cayuga Medical Centerwww.cayugamed.org
607-274-4011 - Tompkins Countywww.tompkins-co.org/personnel/
607-274-5526 - Wegmanswww.wegmans.com
607-277-5800 - Franziska Racker Centerwww.rackercenters.org
607-272-5891 - City of Ithacawww.ci.ithaca.ny.us
607-274-6539 - William George Agencywww.wgaforchildren.org
607-844-6214
JOB HUNTING RESOURCES
Find materials on resume writing, interview and career exam preparation, and improving computer, writing, and language skills. Search the library catalog and online resources at tcpl.org. Assistance is available at the Reference Desk, by telephone at 607-272-4556, and email at askalibrarian@tcpl.org.
Employment Databases
Search the library's business and newspaper databases for business and industry trends, company data and careers in the library or from home with a valid library card. Classifieds are not included in these services.
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale Cengage Learning) Business Insights: Essentials offers company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
- New York State Newspapers (Gale Cengage Learning) This full-text newspaper database includes the following NYS papers: Buffalo News, Herald American (Syracuse), Herald-Journal (Syracuse), Indian County Today (Oneida), New York Observer, New York Post, New York Times (also Magazine and Book Review), Newsday (Melville), Post-Standard (Syracuse), Post-Star (Glen Falls), Times Herald-Record (Middletown), Times Union (Albany), and Watertown Daily Times.
Job Hunting
Read current newspaper classifieds of local and regional newspapers in the library’s North Reading Room. Back issues are kept behind the display shelves. TCPL subscribes to the print editions of local newspapers:
- Cornell Chronicle
- Democrat & Chronicle (Rochester / Sunday)
- The Ithaca Journal
- Ithaca Times
- The Post-Standard (Syracuse)
Subjects used to find books on this topic:
Book suggestions from our collection:
http://library.booksite.com/6631/nl/?list=CNL14&group=EB66&preview=1
Career Examination Preparation
Career Examination Series
by National Learning Corporation
Call number TEST 351.076
CSEA Examination Preparation Booklets
Call number TEST 351.076
Test books are in a special area of the library. Please ask a librarian if you need help locating these.
- Learning Express (New users should register using their library card barcode number) For detailed information about this database, visit http://tcpl.libguides.com/lel.
Interviewing
Subjects used to find books on this topic:
Book suggestions from our collection:
http://library.booksite.com/6631/nl/?list=CNL14&group=EB66&preview=1
Resume Writing
WinWay Resume Deluxe Resume Software
Available on all 27 of the Library’s Internet and word processing computers, the resume software features 14,000 sample resumes for more than 35,000 common job titles. Users will also be able to:
- Create persuasive resume cover letters, ad response letters and interview thank you letters.
- Receive expert advice in full motion video to create professional looking resumes and cover letters and negotiate salary and benefits with confidence.
- Find answers to 200+ difficult interview & salary questions.
- Access current job openings anywhere in the U.S.A. from leading job search sites.
Microsoft Office 2007
Type up your resume or create a PowerPoint presentation for your interview using our computers. Read more information about our public computers. Our computers have the following software:
- Word
- Excel
- PowerPoint
- Publisher
- Access
- Internet
Subjects used to find books on this topic:
Book selections from our collection:
http://library.booksite.com/6631/nl/?list=CNL14&group=EB66&preview=1
Librarian's Profile |
Additional Resources
- Job Seekers’ Guide
- Jobs Express The site takes thousands of jobs listed on the New York State Jobs Bank and sorts them by region to help job seekers evaluate what industries are growing in their area and find out what opportunities are available in specific economic sectors.
- NYS Department of Labor StatisticsWages, projections, and latest job figures
- New York State Job Bank
- Occupational Outlook HandbookThis information published by the Bureau of Labor and Statistics has been a standard in libraries for years. For hundreds of different types of jobs the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you:
- training and education needed
- earnings
- expected job prospects
- what workers do on the job
- working conditions
In addition, the Handbook gives you job search tips, links to information about the job market in each State, and more. - Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce
- Women's Opportunity Center (WOC)The Women's Opportunity Center (WOC) provides information and assistance for women and men to overcome obstacles and gain employment. WOC offers career counseling, computer classes, career workshops, job training,resume preparation, professional clothing and temporary transportation assistance.


Loading...
