Library Menu
Local Contacts
- Cornell Cooperative Extension of Tompkins County - www.ccetompkins.org615 Willow Avenue
Ithaca, NY 14850-3555
607-272-2292 - Cornell University - Department of Horticulture134A Plant Sciences Bldg
Ithaca, NY 14853
607-255-4568/1789 - Ithaca Children’s Garden615 Willow Avenue
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 272-2292 - Ithaca Community GardensProject Growing Hope
PO Box 606
Ithaca NY 14851
GARDENING RESOURCES
Tompkins County Public Library offers resources on all aspects of gardening, including perennials and annuals, garden design, structures, climate-
specific resources, and propagation. This brochure includes titles of books, DVDs, and online resources to help you design and implement your garden.
Books
You can use the PowerPAC online catalog to find materials at our library, as well as request them from other libraries in the Finger Lakes Library System. To narrow your search, try using the following search terms:
- Flower Gardening
- Gardening Gardens—Design
- Organic Gardening
- Stonescaping (search this under “Any Field”)
- Vegetable Gardening
Here is a booklist of select titles from the Library's collection http://library.booksite.com/6631/nl/?list=CNL14&group=EB73&preview=1.
The Library's gardening collection is shelved in the non-fiction area, under the call numbers 635 and 712. Don’t forget to also look for items in the Oversized book section just behind the North Reading Room. These items will look different in the Library catalog; they will have the prefix “O” before the actual call number.
Magazines
TCPL has subscriptions to a variety of print magazines and periodic literature for your enjoyment. These materials are available in the North Reading Room. A few of our most popular gardening periodicals include:
- Better Homes and Gardens
- Garden Gate
- Horticulture
- Organic Gardening (Rodale’s)
- Taunton's Fine Gardening
DVDs
The Library has a growing collection of DVDs on the topic of gardening. DVDs are shelved near the New Book section and are available for checkout.
Great Gardening Tips
Call number: DVD 635 G
All About Caring for Plants
Call number: YS DVD J 581
Located in Youth Services
Martha’s Spring Gardening
by Stewart, Martha
Call number: DVD 635 “M”
Reference Librarians will be happy to assist you with your search. Stop by our desk or contact us if you'd like more recommendations or need help obtaining materials.
Databases
Databases allow you to research topics, and locate full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias. These databases are available from home at tcpl.org/research/databases.php with a valid Tompkins County Public Library card.
- Grolier Encyclopedias (Scholastic) This collection of full-text encyclopedias includes standard encyclopedic entries written for children, teens, and adults. This database may be helpful in plant identification and includes color images.
Internet Resources
- BBC Gardening - www.bbc.co.uk/gardeningThe British Broadcasting Corporation provides the history of British gardening basics, plant finder database, pest and disease identifier, tips for gardening with children, virtual garden planner, and photos.
- Brooklyn Botanic Garden’s Online Library of Gardening Information - www.bbg.org/gardeningFeatures gardening articles and tips selected
from Brooklyn Botanic Garden horticultural publications. Covers a wide variety of topics include gardening techniques and design, houseplants, urban gardening, plant science, and pests and diseases. - Cornell Cooperative Extension Tompkins County - ccetompkins.org/gardenCornell Cooperative Extension of Tompkins County has information on soils, site improvement, plant selection, proper plant care, eco-friendly practices, integrated pest
management, and composting. - Cornell University - Department of Horticulture - hort.cals.cornell.edu/cals/hort/extensionGreat local collection of information such factsheets on vegetable diseases and pests, soil basics, raised bed gardening, and lawncare without pesticides.
- Open Directory Project: Gardening - search.dmoz.org/cgi-bin/search?search=gardeningProvides over 2,000 links to garden-related websites. Broadly indexed into categories with descriptions for each site.
Feedback
Librarian's Profile |
More Guides
- Last Updated Nov 13, 2012
Health, Family, Relationships, and Retirement
46 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 17, 2011
Here you'll find information & tips on using the technology & tools we're using here at the library!
64 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 5, 2012
Electronic mail (email) is a way to send a printed message or visual almost instantly anywhere in the world. This guide will help you to establish an email account.
199 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
Read It, Write It, Speak It
290 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 24, 2012
A step-by-step guide to Facebook that covers: how to set up an account, use basic features, set privacy settings and close accounts.
16 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2013
Download eBooks, eAudiobooks, and eMusic from Tompkins County Public Library's Website!
4,825 views this year
- Last Updated Aug 8, 2012
Community support, career satisfaction, healthy relationships, financial security, and physical health are the building blocks of wellbeing.
33 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Tax season can be confusing! We're here to help! Here you'll find assistance in obtaining forms and instructions, where to go for tax help in our community and resources for guidance in getting your taxes completed and filed!
749 views this year


Loading...
