This is the "Home" page of the "Business Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2013 URL: http://tcpl.libguides.com/business Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Local & Regional Business Links

  • Tompkins County Chamber of Commerce
    The Chamber serves as a link between business and government, community organizations, local residents and institutions. Includes business resources for entrepreneurs and an economic profile of the county. Search for local businesses by category or by alphabetical list.
  • Downtown Ithaca Alliance
    The Downtown Ithaca Business Improvement District (DIBID) assists businesses and investors interested in downtown Ithaca projects. They can help in finding business space, provide marketing data, and offer start-up assistance.
  • Tompkins County Area Development
    TCAD, a private not-for-profit organization, creates private sector jobs in Tompkins County. TCAD’s focus is on companies that sell products or services to customers outside of the county. Includes links to important local resources.
  • New York State Small Business Development Center (SBDC)
    SBDC offers business counseling and training to New Yorkers who want to start a business or improve the performance of an existing business. Tompkins County is served by centers in Binghamton and Corning.
  • Small Business Administration (SBA)
    SBA is an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns. This site includes a small business planner, lists of services, and tools that can assist you in starting your own business.
 

BUSINESS RESOURCES

The Tompkins County Public Library offers many resources to help you make informed business decisions. We can assist you by providing information for home or small business start-up, finance and investing, and offering general business research. Business is a vast topic; therefore, this guide lists key general resources available through the Library.

 

Books

You can use the PowerPAC online catalog at tcpl.org to find materials at our library, as well as request them from other libraries in the Finger Lakes Library System. To narrow your search, try using the following search terms:

Reference Librarians will be happy to assist you with your search.

The Library's business-related collection is shelved in the non-fiction area, under the call numbers 330 - 339 and 658. Below is a booklistof titles owned at the library:
http://library.booksite.com/6631/nl/?list=CNL14&group=EB125

Titles not found in the Tompkins County Public Library catalog or in the Finger Lakes Library System may be available through the out-of-system interlibrary loan service. Stop by the reference desk or contact us if you need help obtaining a book.

Download Books

Learn how to browse, check out, and download free eBooks and eAudiobooks from TCPL's website by going to tcpl.libguides.com/etcpl.
You can browse our collection of business eBooks and eAudiobooks by visiting flls.lib.overdrive.com/BANGSearch.dll?Type=Subject&ID=08&Format=25,425,50,410,420

 

Magazines and Newspapers

TCPL has subscriptions to a variety of print magazines and periodic literature. Paper copies of the following magazines and newspapers are located in the North Reading Room:

  • Bloomberg Businessweek
  • Economist
  • Forbes
  • Home Business
  • The Ithaca Journal (1934 to present) - great for local business trends and news
  • Kiplinger’s Personal Finance
  • Money
  • New York Times (1851 to present)
  • Wall Street Journal (1981 to present)

In addition to these magazine titles, many of our newspaper and magazine subscriptions are available through the following online business databases.

Business Databases

Databases allow you to research topics, search business directories, and locate full-text articles from magazines and newspapers. These databases are available from home at tcpl.org/research/databases.php.

  • Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage Learning)  
      
    Offers full-text articles of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
  • Business Insights: Essentials (Gale Cengage Learning)  
      
    Business Insights: Essentials offers company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
  • Ithaca Journal (ProQuest)  
      
    The Ithaca Journal is a daily newspaper serving Ithaca, and the surrounding Tompkins County area. This database offers indexing and full-text to the Ithaca Journal from Nov 26, 2002 - present.

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced Nakes) was developed under the direction and guidance of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) as the standard for use by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the collection, tabulation, presentation, and analysis of statistical data describing the U.S. economy. 

NAICS in the United States was designed for statistical purposes. However, NAICS is frequently used for various administrative, regulatory, contracting, taxation, and other non-statistical purposes. For example, some state governments offer tax incentives to businesses classified in specified NAICS industries. Some contracting authorities require businesses to register their NAICS codes, which are used to determine eligibility to bid on certain contracts. The requirements for these non-statistical purposes played no role in the initial development of NAICS or its later revisions.

Librarian's Profile

Profile Image
Jennifer
Contact Info
607-272-4556
jschlossberg@tcpl.org or askalibrarian@tcpl.org
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip